Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 16th, 2008

He asked me, “Have you been watching, son of man?” Then he led me back along the riverbank.  When I returned, I was surprised by the sight of many trees growing on both sides of the river.  Then he said to me, “This river flows east through the desert into the valley of the Dead Sea. The waters of this stream will make the salty waters of the Dead Sea fresh and pure.  There will be swarms of living things wherever the water of this river flows. Fish will abound in the Dead Sea, for its waters will become fresh. Life will flourish wherever this water flows. Fishermen will stand along the shores of the Dead Sea. All the way from En-gedi to En-eglaim, the shores will be covered with nets drying in the sun. Fish of every kind will fill the Dead Sea, just as they fill the Mediterranean.  But the marshes and swamps will not be purified; they will still be salty.  Fruit trees of all kinds will grow along both sides of the river. The leaves of these trees will never turn brown and fall, and there will always be fruit on their branches. There will be a new crop every month, for they are watered by the river flowing from the Temple. The fruit will be for food and the leaves for healing.”  Ezekiel 47:6-12

Note on verses 8, 9

The Jordan Valley is the geological depression in which the Dead Sea lies.  The Dead Sea is a body of water so salty that nothing can live in it.  The river will freshen the Dead Sea’s water so it can support life.  This is another picture of the life-giving nature of the water that flows from God’s Temple.  God’s power can transform us no matter how lifeless or corrupt we may be.  Even when we feel messed up and beyond hope, his power can heal us.

Today is quite a day for me.  All in all, I feel a better, not so gloomy, thankfully.  It is amazing to me that when it comes to other people, my faith is unwavering, but when it comes to me, it is a little harder to have faith.  I suppose that is because I know that I don’t have any control over other people, their lives, nor their future.  But as for me, as all humans do, I think that I’m in control of my life and my future.  I know that is far from the truth and that God is in complete control, but surrendering my self to His control is hard.  I’ve had quite a 24 hour period with other people in my life that are close to me have come to me with faith finding dilemmas and to me the answer is easy, “trust God.”  But, for them, these are life altering situations. 

I mentioned my sister the other day and begged for your prayers.  Praise God, she has initially responded to His voice, even if she doesn’t realize it is His voice.  I feel a little more freedom in explaining the situation.  She has been a drug addict in the past, but has been seemingly clean for over a year now.  The only way that we can effectively judge this is by her drastic difference in behavior from before and now.  Friday she said she was pregnant and having had abortions in the past, she was contemplating another one.  I asked for your prayers and everyone else that I know and the Lord has blessed me with demonstrating His unfailing love and mighty power.  My sister has decided to keep the baby.  Thank You Jesus!  However, knowing my sister the way that I do, I know that she could change her mind on the drop of a dime.  Please, whenever you remember me, pray for her and that beautiful unborn child of God that she is carrying.  Until I see that little cherub face, I will not stop praying.  Anyway, all that is to say that last night was when she called to tell me that she finally decided not to have an abortion.

Today, my husband was given some disturbing information from his employer and he will be pre-occupied with that information for a while now.  Please pray for him that his faith will grow in leaps and bounds through this experience!

I flipped through and found this scripture today.  I’ve been thinking about my sister, my own situation, my husbands and I can’t help but wonder why I have no fear about the two of them and that God has them safely tucked in the palm of His hand and yet I have such a hard time with such assurance for myself.  I think about the last thought from the note above, God’s power can transform us no matter how lifeless or corrupt we may be.  Even when we feel messed up and beyond hope, his power can heal us.  I am so thankful that God’s power truly does transform and heal us no matter how lifeless or corrupt we are.  I have often felt messed up beyond hope.  I have often thought my sister wasn’t beyond hope even though she lived the lifestyle she did.  Why do I have such a huge difference in standards and expectations?  If I believe that my sister can be saved through the powerful work of God, then why can’t I who hasn’t lived a life as depraved as her? 

Yesterday, I had no feeling one way or the other about how my life would go from that day forward, today, I feel uplifted.  I’m sure, part of this all has to do with the pregnancy hormones, but that is how it is for me these days.  I think of Jesus life giving water, of the care that He bestows upon us, each and every one of us, and realize that I don’t have to be in control.  I’m thankful when people that are close to me are undergoing trials because it bolster’s my faith too.  I can believe for them and where they are lacking in faith or have less faith than in other areas, I can be their support and have a ton of faith for them.  In the end, this strengthens my faith in God regarding my life. 

I guess that is the way it is supposed to work.  I think about the the river flowing from the Temple of God described by Ezekiel.  The water gave life to everything that partook of it.  Wherever it went, however it twisted, through all the obsticals in its path, it still gave life to everything that touched it.  Trees would produce a new crop each month!  That is some kind of life giving water!  But, the water extends its properties to those who partake.  The Trees that produce fruit each month, will never have leaves turning brown and falling to the ground.  In fact, the bible says that the fruit is for food and the leaves for healing.  Not only does the water give life and heal, it extends its properties of life and healing to others so that it may continue the power of God through continuous manifestation in the fruits and labors of the next things’ life, in this case the tree’s fruit and leaves.

How is this in my life?  With my sister, who isn’t a Christian, I have faith that God is reaching out to her and drawing her to Himself.  I believe that He will stop at nothing to get her, He loves her that much.  He is peeling away layers from her and healing her as His lifegiving water flows over her.  Even though she doesn’t see it, know it or understand it, I believe it.  My faith is growing because I am in a sense carrying her through this faith building process.  This may take years for her, but it will happen.  This is also building my faith because when she finally sees and accepts the light of Jesus, I will have a deep sense of Jesus victory in her life and I will know that God cares just as much for me.  In turn, this will help heal my many hurts and injustices just by watching her go through this time in her life.  I know that I’m speaking on the bright, cheery, hopeful side of things, but that is perfectly okay because I’m believing that God will do these things.

As for my husband, the same goes.  As he goes through this faith building situation that has been thrust upon him, I can support him by being strong in my faith and he can rely on me for that.  I know that I can’t have faith for others, but the stronger I am while they are going through whatever, they will see that faith is worth acquiring.  I think I’m talking in circles, does any of this make sense?  I guess, I simply want to encourage with this – even encourage myself – let the river from the Temple of God flow over and through you so that He can heal you and bring life in abundance to you.  Drink in the refreshing waters.  Praise Him for His care and provision for us.  His love endures forever.

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.  Point out anything in me that offends you, and lead me along the path of everlasting life.  Psalm 139:23-24

May God provide the increase

Read Full Post »